Scholarship Recipients

Since 1962, when the first small scholarship was presented, the Maine Business and Professional Women have been helping Maine women achieve economic self-sufficiency by awarding scholarships to outstanding and deserving women. Recipients of these scholarships have gone on to take their place in the ranks of working women who contribute to the economic well-being of their families and the State of Maine.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

The BPW/Maine Continuing Education Scholarship
Taylor Ouelette – Turner
University of New England – Biology/Pre-Med

The Jeanne L. Hammond Memorial Scholarship
Celia Leimbach – Waterville
Wheaton College – Mathematics

The Kennebec Savings Bank Scholarship
Victoria N. Nolette – Readfield
University of Maine – Accounting & Management

The Lemieux-Lovejoy Youth Scholarship
Arlena Tolmasoff – Bucksport
University of Maine – Mathematics

The BPW/University of Maine at Augusta Scholarship
Mary Orcutt
Deborah Whitter

The Webber Career Advancement Scholarship
Jamie Kearney – Waterville
Harvard Graduate School of Education – Masters of Education
Mind, Brain & Education

I’d just like to say thank you so much for awarding me the $1200 scholarship from the Futurama Foundation Scholarship Fund.  This generous scholarship has put me one step closer to achieving my dream of one day becoming a college mathematics professor.

As a first-generation college student with a low family income, I am highly appreciative of this award and will work my absolute hardest in my studies at the University of Maine to be the best student I can be

Again, thank you so much, it is sincerely appreciated.

Arlena Tolmasoff