The Maine Women’s Hall of Fame was established in 1990 by the Maine Federation of Business and Professional Women (BPW/Maine). The University of Maine at Augusta has been a co-sponsor since the beginning.  In 1998, the BPW/Maine Futurama Foundation took on co-sponsorship role, and several Foundation trustees have volunteered their time and attention to the Maine Women’s Hall of Fame along with their stewardship of the Futurama Foundation scholarships awarded annually to Maine women.

The Hall of Fame is dedicated to women who have met these specific criteria: The woman’s achievements have had a significant statewide impact, significantly improved the lives of women in Maine, and her contribution has enduring value for women.

Nominations are submitted by a variety of organizations, businesses, or individuals. The deadline for nominations is December 1st. An independent panel of judges reviews the nominations with careful consideration to select one or two honorees to be inducted each year.

Each year’s ceremony is held at the University of Maine at Augusta  on the third Saturday of March, in observance of Women’s History Month. The University has generously provided a site in the Bennett D. Katz Library for the display of photographs and citations for each honoree.  A Silver Tea is held prior to the ceremony to honor our new and previous honorees.